Posted by: Kelly | September 8, 2013

Back(?)

Look who’s back!  Well…maybe.  I wouldn’t be at all surprised if this doesn’t last.  I haven’t blogged since last December and I’ve actually loved it.  Not that I ever spent that much time on it to begin with, but it still stressed me out.  Yet one more thing on the to-do-list.  But lately I’ve been feeling like it doesn’t have to be all or nothing.  I’m just going to keep it super short and simply.  If I don’t feel like adding pictures and links, I won’t, and so on.

So what have I been up to in the past 8 months?  In May I ran Broad Street for the 4th time and PR’d.  Two weeks later I ran my 2nd marathon, the Pocono Run for the Red Marathon.  I PR’d by about 10 minutes, but, for several reasons, did not really enjoy this race.  And a week after that I ran my favorite race ever, the Dirty German 25k trail run, for the 3rd time.

Then, in June, I flew to San Francisco for a solo vacation.  I spent several wonderful days exploring the city and eating at all the amazing vegan restaurants that I’ve heard about over the years.  Let’s see, there was Source, Herbivore, Gracias Madre, Millenium, Peebles donuts, Cinnaholic, a Hella Vegan Eats pop-up at Dear Mom, and more.  One of the highlights of my trip was getting to re-connect with my college roommate who I hadn’t seen in years and years.  At the end of my trip I ran the SF Marathon.  It was 20 minutes slower than my 1st marathon, and a whopping 30 minutes slower than my Pocono Marathon time from just a month earlier, but mostly because the course was so awesome and I kept stopping to take pictures!  We got to run over the Golden Gate Bridge, which was pretty amazing 🙂

I took several weeks off from running after that, but now I’m back at it again.  I have the Marine Corp Marathon coming up at the end of October, and then the Richmond Marathon in November.  More on my new training approach and my hopes for a PR in a future post.  I’m also a week into trying to eat super clean in an effort to lose some weight before Marine Corp Marathon.  I haven’t eaten any of my usual post-dinner sugar bombs (and now that I’m off them, not really craving them either) which is HUGE for me.  In the 7 weeks left before the race I am hoping to lose 14 pounds.  We shall see.  I have been cooking tons of recipes from 365 Vegan Smoothies and from Let Them Eat Vegan.  Both cookbooks have quickly become favorites this summer.

Okay, this way waaay wordier than I intentioned!  I leave you (if there’s anyone still out there?) with a picture of the tofu scramble I made this morning with veggies from the farmer’s market.  Auf Wiedersehen 🙂

DSC_0352

Responses

  1. Glad to see you back Kelly! That’s awesome that you’re running strong, and that you got to visit SF. Isn’t Cinnaholic the BEST?

    • And glad you’re back too! Currently dealing with a setback in running, but hope it’s just temporary! Cinnaholic was actually not one of my favorites- loved the toppings but have had better cinnamon rolls. That said, still awesome for there to be an all-vegan, all- cinnamon bun shop and I bought two 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

